Rustenstore Network Model

Posted on Aug 23, 2021

Today I was thinking about rustenstore (you don’t know what it is but who cares ? No one is reading this blog) and how to send the eventstreams to the clients.

I told myself that using GRPC was a great idea to decrease connect/disconnect rate between the client and the server.

However, a way better idea came just after. Why not just use a TCP connection ? After all, my eventstreams a binary file, so lets send their binary content through the TCP connection. With this solution, no unmarshaling/remarchaling involve on the server side (it would be necessary with GRPC). Just plain binary content forwarding through the TCP connection.

Moreover, as rustenstore wants to be a minimalist database, it is sound to use a minimalist connection protocol.

I can’t wait testing this !